TEQSA Commissioners are appointed by the Commonwealth Minister for Education on the basis of their expertise in areas relevant to the functions of the Agency, in particular, higher education quality assurance and regulatory practice. The Commission also plays an important role in informing the higher education sector about the work of TEQSA and the responsibilities of higher education providers under the Australian Government’s regulatory regime. TEQSA’s Commissioners are: 

Chief Executive Officer

Anthony McClaran

Anthony McClaranAnthony McClaran took up the position of Chief Executive Officer of the Tertiary Education Quality and Standards Agency (TEQSA) on 12 October 2015.

Before joining TEQSA, Anthony was the Chief Executive of the UK’s Quality Assurance Agency (QAA) for six years and prior to that the Chief Executive of the UK’s national agency for higher education admissions, the Universities and Colleges Admissions Service (UCAS) from 2003-2009.

A graduate in English and American Literature from the University of Kent, Anthony began his career at the University of Warwick where, among other posts, he was Admissions Officer. In 1992 he moved to the University of Hull to take up the post of Academic Registrar, with responsibility for an office which included recruitment, admissions, student records, international affairs and academic resource allocation. In 1995 he was appointed Acting Registrar and Secretary.

Anthony was a member of the Executive Board of the European Association for Quality Assurance in Higher Education (ENQA) from 2013-2015 and is now a member of the Board of the International Network for Quality Assurance Agencies in Higher Education (INQAAHE) and the US Council for HE Accreditation (CHEA) International Advisory Group. In Australia he sits on the steering groups for the Digital Student Data Project, the National Student Partnership Project and the National Peer Assessment Project.

He has held a number of governance roles at all levels of education and was Chair of Council and Pro-Chancellor of the University of Gloucestershire (UK) from 2007 to 2009.

Senior Management Team

The Commission is supported by a Senior Management Team (SMT) comprising the Chief Executive Officer and TEQSA Senior Managers. The SMT is responsible for the management of TEQSA’s regulatory business, corporate processes and people.